Can I File For Divorce in Texas?
A common belief is that you must file for divorce in the state where you were married. However, that is not true. Our lives are ever changing and with the development of transportation and travel, moving is easier and has become more common. Every state has their own requirements for filing for divorce. Here are 6 key points to get a divorce in Texas.
1. You or your spouse must be a domiciliary of Texas. To be domiciled in Texas, you or your spouse must have lived in Texas for the preceding six months prior to filing for divorce.
2. If you and your spouse meet the six-month Texas domiciliary requirement, you can file in the county you or your spouse resided in for 90 days prior to filing.
3. If you meet the six-month Texas domiciliary requirement, you must file in the county you resided in for 90 days prior to filing.
4. If your spouse meets the six-month Texas domiciliary requirement, you must file in the county where your spouse resides.
5. If only one spouse is a domiciled in Texas, the other spouse must have been properly served.
6. A Texas court can grant you a divorce if numbers one through four are met. However, if your spouse is not a resident of Texas and you are asking the court to divide marital property, require your spouse to pay spousal support, or require your spouse to make other personal obligations, then additional requirements must be met.
DISCLAIMER: The following information found on www.legalattraction.com is provided for general informational purposes only. It may not reflect the current law in your jurisdiction. No information contained on this website should be construed as legal advice or the creation of an attorney-client relationship. This information is not intended to be a substitute for legal representation by an attorney.